Open Menu
Close Menu

Who We Are

Fostering Spirituality

Living Justly

Joining the Mission

History and Archives

Supporting the Mission

Contact Us
1971 Feature Image


LCWR was originally the Conference of Major Superiors of Women (CMSW). It began in 1956; the name was changed to Leadership Conference of Women Religious in 1971. The IHM congregation was a member from the group’s earliest days. The first Monroe IHM to serve as LCWR President was Margaret Brennan, in 1972. Others were: Carol Quigley (1986), Nancy Sylvester (1999), Sharon Holland (2014) and Jane Herb (2021). Ann Virginia Bowling served as associate director in 1971.